site templates free download

29th September 2019, 7.30pm

Neil Crossland (piano)
Daquin: Le Coucou
Haydn: Sonata in A flat major Hob.XVI.43
Schubert: Six Moments Musicaux D.780
Neil Crossland: Transcriptions of ‘Queen’
                             Piano Sonata No.3 “The Awakening” 

The annual visits of this phenomenal artist are always eagerly awaited, especially after his recent epic series of the complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas. After the ever popular “Cuckoo” he plays one of Haydn’s charming and typically sprightly sonatas, followed by a hauntingly beautiful collection of pieces published in the year Schubert died. As remarkable a composer as performer, Neil then gives us some of his own arrangements of popular music, and then his third sonata, a work in a richly romantic and excitingly virtuosic style. 

27th October 2019, 7.30pm

The Marmara Trio: Mona Kodama (violin), Thomas Gregory (cello),
Mine Dogantan-Dack (piano)
Schubert: Piano Trio No.2 in E flat D.929
Tchaikovsky: Piano Trio in A minor Opus 50

After their magnificent performance last year of Beethoven’s “Archduke” and Brahms’s Opus 8, regular Colour House artist Thomas Gregory and his colleagues now treat us to two more of the greatest piano trios.  Schubert's second was written the year before his death aged just 31, its slow movement having one of his most inspired tunes.    That other great tunesmith, Tchaikovsky, is of course most renowned for his symphonies, concertos and ballet music, but his chamber music has real stature, and this superb work won’t disappoint you.   

24th November 2019, 7.30pm

Music for wind ensemble by the Bromley Symphony Wind Soloists

We welcome back this talented group who have filled the Colour House with glorious wind sound every year now for nearly a decade. All colleagues of series favourite, oboist Caroline Marwood, they explore the varied repertoire of chamber music for wind, especially the three great serenades by Mozart, one of which they will play in this concert. Also in the programme will be Brahms’s familiar Variations on the St Antoni Chorale (aka Variations on a Theme of Haydn) in a brilliant arrangement for wind band.    

15th December 2019, 7.30pm

Simon Ballard (piano) with The Colour House Ensemble
Mozart: Piano Concerto No.12 in A K414
Fesca:   Septet No.1 in G minor for oboe, horn, violin, viola,                           cello, double bass and piano 

In our Christmas concerts the main item has traditionally been a large-scale festive piece from the early nineteenth century.  In 2015 we programmed the first of the two Septets by Alexander Fesca, a German contemporary of Mendelssohn and Schumann who tragically died young before his great promise could be fulfilled.  It was received so enthusiastically then that we can’t resist revisiting it as this year’s Christmas special.  Before it we hear the exquisite K414, one of three piano concertos which Mozart authorised could be played in a chamber version.  As ever we welcome our marvellous pianist Simon, an outstanding Mozartean, who unusually will play Mozart’s alternative finale for this work, published separately as the Rondo K386.