Sunday  Evening Music Among Friends

Website © Hawks & Hawks

The Music

As usual we start the year with something really different, a definite must for cello fanciers. Over the years Kim has given us many fine performances, both as soloist and in ensemble, and she now brings us the unique all-cello group she founded in 2008. “Chamber Cellos” is a noted series of residential country house music courses for talented amateur cellists, and their varied programme of ingenious arrangements of favourite pieces will include the slow movement of Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto and the finale of Kodaly’s great Sonata for Solo Cello.


Sunday January 28th 7.30pm

Sunday February 25th 7.30pm

Sunday March 25th 7.30pm  


Kim Mackrelll and friends, with Megan Bowen (soprano), Jane Sinclair (violin), Roy Stratford (piano)

Music by Haydn,Mozart, Mendelssohn, Handel, Faure, Kodaly and others                                                                      Handel                       


After their lovely recital of clarinet trios in July, Thomas and friends return with an irresistible programme – arguably the two greatest classical piano trios of all, and both on the broadest scale. Beethoven’s famous “Archduke” is a work of his high maturity and of an extraordinary serenity. Brahms wrote his glorious B major Trio at the age of 20 but revised it when he was 56, thus perfectly combining the ardour of youth with the mastery of age.  

Robert’s annual visits are always a major event, and this year this phenomenal virtuoso gives us two of the biggest and finest piano works of all.  Schumann’s “Etudes Symphoniques”, despite their dry title, are in reality a kaleidoscopically imaginative set of variations; Schubert’s other-worldly A major is one of the three late sonatas (if “late” can really be said of a composer who died aged 31) which crown his career. As an aperitif Robert gives us one of the delectable sets of piano pieces from Brahms’s final years.


Brahms:      Three Intermezzi Opus 117

Schumann: Symphonic Studies Opus 13

Schubert:    Sonata No.20 in A D959


Mona Kodama (violin),Thomas Gregory (cello), Mine Dogantan-Dack (piano)

Beethoven: Piano Trio No.7 in B flat

                       Opus 97 “The Archduke”

Brahms:      Piano Trio No.1 in B Opus 8